top of page
In a Meeting_edited.jpg


The Substance Abuse Research Advisory (SARA) Committee works to foster insightful research education experiences and to ensure that HEALTH–FAST program reflects the state-of-the-science. The SARA Committee comprises experts and community stakeholders, including local faculty researchers
with content expertise and community leaders who work in relevant substance use treatment settings with individuals with substance abuse disorders.
The SARA Committee members work directly with the HEALTH–FAST leadership to enhance trainee research, mentoring, and professional development experiences and maximizes the overall efficiency and effectiveness of the HEALTH–FAST Program. They also contribute to our ATOD Seminar Series.


Dr. Haeny_Headshot.jpg

Dr. Angela Haeny is an Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and leads the Race Equity and Addiction Lab (REAL) at Yale School of Medicine. She is a licensed Clinical Psychologist with specialty in substance use disorders. Dr. Haeny is committed to eliminating racial disparities and enhancing diversity, equity, and inclusion, which cuts across all aspects of her work. Her research investigates effective alcohol and drug treatments among individuals underrepresented in substance use research with a focus on Black adults. Her research also involves identifying understudied risk factors for substance use and problems especially salient to Black people. Currently, Dr. Haeny’s research is considering how to target racial stress and trauma and other relevant constructs in drug and alcohol treatment to improve treatment outcomes, retention, and satisfaction among Black adults. This work is funded by a 5-year career development award from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.


bottom of page